Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Exemption from Placement Testing

The use of multiple measures to exempt students from taking a placement test is the most common technique, and can be found in 15 systems. For example, the North Carolina Community College System requires that students be placed directly into credit-bearing courses if they have a high school GPA of 2.6 or above and have taken four math classes in high school, one of which required Algebra II is a prerequisite. Students who do not meet the GPA requirement can submit their ACT/SAT scores to demonstrate readiness for college-level courses. Students who graduated from high school more than five years before, or who do not meet the GPA or ACT/SAT cutoffs, must take a placement test. Students may be exempt from the California State University’s English and math placement tests through the Early Assessment Program (EAP), a test for 11th grade students (Smarter Balanced). If the EAP does not exempt them from placement testing, SAT, ACT, and AP test scores will be considered before placement testing as well.

State Policy Example

Exemption from Placement Testing: Texas

All entering college students take the TSI Assessment in reading, mathematics and writing unless they qualify for an exemption based on a larger set of assessments.

States using this policy type

  • CA
  • DE
  • FL
  • GA
  • IL
  • MA
  • MN
  • NC
  • NY
  • OH
  • OR
  • SD
  • TX
  • WA

Systems using this policy type