Types of Multiple Measures Policies

Multiple Measures Policy Framework

Multiple measures policies vary along a continuum that ranges from significant institutional autonomy to centralized, highly specified system or state-wide policy. We identify five general policy categories. The left end of the continuum consists of more decentralized models, in which institutions have greater flexibility to select the measures included in the placement process. Policy categories become increasingly more centralized and specific moving to the right of the continuum.

Continuum of Institutional Flexibility in State/System Multiple Measures Policies

Decentralized Placement Policies
Centralized Placement Policies
  • Institutional Selection

    The state or system requires use of multiple measures but does not specify the types of measures to be included; institutions have total discretion in selecting measures.
  • Below the Threshold

    The state or system identifies one or more common assessment(s) and cut score(s); if a student falls below the cut score(s), an additional set of measures, determined by individual institutions, may be used to make a final placement determination.
  • One and Done

    The state or system identifies a number of measures that may be included in placement decisions; if a student meets the cut score on any one of these assessments, they are to be placed in college level courses.
  • Exemption from Placement Testing

    The state or system's placement policy states that students are exempt from the requirement to take and pass a placement test if they first meet the cut score on another measure(s).
  • Placement Formula

    The results of state- or system-specified assessment measures generate an index score used to determine course placement.